šŸ“£ Rhino: Feedback wanted on updating behaviour on receive!

Hi everyone. Speckle newbie here and apologies if the questions have been answered before but I looked and couldnā€™t find anything so here it comes :slight_smile:

Trying to wrap my head around how Speckle works I have the following questions on sending and receiving geometry: [Iā€™ll create separate posts for questions on other topics]:

1- When I send a geometry from one Rhino file, receiving works fine on another Rhino instance on my machine. But when I update the geometry, send and receive it again, a new geometry is created (as opposed to the same geometry getting updated). So for instance I end up with two surfaces after receiving for the second time. If I receive a third time, there will be three surfaces. Am I right in expecting the same geometry to be updated? Could there be any settings Iā€™ve missed?

2- If say my file has three boxes in it and I change one box only, do I need to select entire boxes again when I want to commit my change? Seems like the concept of staging and committing a single file in git, doesnā€™t have an equivalent here where file = geometry(data)?

Thanks

1 Like

Hey Hoss,

Great to see you here :wave:!

Thanks for your questions, we give these concepts for granted but we should definitely clarify them in our docs!

• currently, the only connector that upon receiving takes care of updating/deleting previously received objects and geometry is the Revit one. In Rhino, AutoCAD etc the newly received geometry is instead added to a new Layer. We thought this to be the most intuitive way of handling updates, but weā€™d be happy to hear if instead youā€™d like a different behaviour.