Thesis Brainstorming

Hello everyone,

I am new to computational design field and I would like to place this thread as a medium to aid me into the finalization of my MSc Thesis whitepaper and concept-methodology process. The main focus I would like to have is machine learning methods (SL or UL or DM or RL) as broad as it sounds and BIM data (provided) through speckle or its API possibly?

Any ideas or papers inside or outside the spectrum I described are welcome.

Thank you for your time.

1 Like

Hey @Nyquist welcome to our community and thanks for starting this thread!

I’m sure you’ve already seen the amazing work from @Oswaldo_Hernandez with Speckle + ChatGPT = chatSpeckle 🗣️🔷 and @ecpcns3g with Speckle+Langchain AI

@jonathon also just published part 1 of a blog post on AI-Powered Conversations with Speckle.

1 Like

Unlocking BIM data with Speckle is a powerful half of the story, as you surmise. You’ve covered a spectrum of ML categories that I’d like to bring the Community along to aid in the discussion. For the uninitiated:

• SL: Supervised learning. In a Speckle context, this could mean labelling Speckle data once it has left BIM authoring software or relying on the attribute population in the host application as the seeding to use for onward processes OR be the reference for future incomplete data. This leads to the following:
  • UL: In contrast, Unsupervised Learning could be the automatic segmentation of the data in Speckle (a good example of segmentation could be classification, and this is something I’m looking into right now)
  • RL: Reinforcement Learning is something I know much less about, and I am happy to see others chime in
  • DM: The big beast several organisations have been approaching Speckle to assist with is Data Mining. We have actively researched ways to assist this activity beyond hiring interns to send an organisation’s data to Speckle model by model.

In the spirit of brainstorming, various activities spring to mind: