Speckle & Glide

Hi,

I am new to Speckle but I am working on an interior design platform using Glide Apps for writing specifications for furniture and finishes. Many of the furniture items tend to be modelled in Sketchup / rhino / blender and I would like to be able to send the furniture model into Glide. I’ve tested out embedding a iframe which works fine

However, I would like to automate this process which I think I should be able to do using webhooks but my main aim is to be able assign material data to meshes inside my platfrom and then send it back to the originating 3D software.
This would include

• Spec Tag
  • Website / Supplier / Cost etc
  • Texture maps

I suppose I am hoping I can create something similar to the excel connector.

Could any let me know if this would be possible?

Thanks

Hi Simon,

Interesting workflow!

When you say “automate this process”, could you describe the process a bit more? What are the triggers and software involved?

It does sound like something that could be done with webhooks, our with our upcoming Speckle Automate:

Hi Matteo,

My ideal process / workflow is as follows, i’ll use sketchup as an example and please bear with me as I am non technical.

Design studio creates a model of a piece of furniture, sets it as a component and sets a project code and item code in the attributes of the component.

When a user creates a stream of the furniture item it fires a webhook that contains the attributes including the empty slots for things such as materials / furniture manufacturer / website / cost and ideally a list of meshes.

In Pointfive (my platform) the webhook is caught, it searches for the project code, and then the item code. If the item code doesn’t exist it will create one. In either scenario the stream is now matched with the corresponding database item in Pointfive and the embed code is added into the it’s row.