Setting up production server on AWS

Hey everyone,

I’m currently looking into setting up a Speckle server for the company i work for, to integrate Speckle in to the workflow of the designers. My expertise in devOps lies within AWS, and i was wondering if it was possible to host a speckle server through AWS. I’ve tried looking into the tutorials, but it explicitly states that you are not supposed to host the server on a VM - for good reasons of course.

The purpose of the server is to send 3D data from an internal design tool to Rhino/Grasshopper, where the Speckle act as a “middelman” and version control tool. This process could maybe also be improved, but im pretty new in the 3D design world.

My question would be if the speckle can be setup with AWS ECS or what the recommended structure for a production Speckle server ? Is it something that i can setup myself or do i need the paid plan setting up the server?

Thanks in advance, and please ask question if you need more details regarding the issue.

P.S If you have any suggestions for improvements please dont hesitate to write :slight_smile:

Hi @karlos

Thanks for your interest in setting up Speckle server on AWS. We’ve created Speckle server in a way that should be agnostic and deployable to any of the major cloud providers.

If you are running on AWS, we offer guides to deploy using Docker Compose or Helm Chart. You can either deploy Speckle server and all required services to a VM, such as those provided by AWS, or just deploy Speckle server and instead connect to AWS’ managed services (such as S3 or a postgres compatible database). We also provide a guide to deploying our Helm Chart on Kubernetes.

The Docker compose integration with AWS ECS was retired by AWS in November 2023, so deploying to AWS ECS may require more work than deploying with Docker Compose to EC2 or Helm Chart to AKS.