Sending data from Revit to Speckle programmatically

Hi community,

I just started learning Speckle, so I hope you can point me in the right direction.

I am a C# developer, and I am currently working on creating an add-in for Revit (2024).
My goal is to send particular elements (or the whole current document) to a Speckle Server/stream. This works fine when I use the User interface of the provided Revit connector.
Now I would like to send elements not using the UI of the connector, but doing this programmatically inside of a Revit add-in (using C#).

Revit allows to access most of their stuff (elements, current project, linked documents, etc…) using the RevitAPI. So I was thinking I could create a new Revit converter kit instance inside the add-in codee, and then use this to convert the Revit elements into Speckle objects.

Here is what I got so far:

//Create a revit converter kit instance
var kit = KitManager.GetDefaultKit();
var converter = kit.LoadConverter(Objects.Converter.Revit.ConverterRevit.RevitAppName);
converter.SetContextDocument(revit_doc);

//Example for converting a particular element - fails with a
//NullReferenceException - the private variable revitDocumentAggregateCache
//is null inside ConverterRevit
var collector = new FilteredElementCollector(Project.MainDocument);
var rev_el = collector.OfCategory(BuiltInCategory.OST_MEPSpaces)
    .FirstOrDefault();
var sp_el = converter.ConvertToSpeckle(rev_el);

//Example for the whole document - the conversion result does not contain any elements
var speckle_doc = converter.ConvertToSpeckle(revit_doc);

//Finally, send the document or the element to Speckle
Helpers.Send("https://speckle.xyz/streams/1225379f6a", speckle_doc);
//Helpers.Send("https://speckle.xyz/streams/1225379f6a", sp_el);

I have two issues here. When I try to convert the whole Autodesk.Revit.DB.Document into a Speckle object, I don’t get an exception, but also the document does not contain any elements.