Navisworks Duct Fittings Geometry Invisible

Hey Speckle Team

I’m running a variety of tests with Speckle. Currently am uploading data to Speckle from Navisworks 2024, then streaming to Blender. I’m running into two main issues:

Issues:

1. Fittings/Elbows not showing up between meshes once inside Blender. I’m guessing this may have to do with individual object size, but am not entirely sure.

2. Upload/Receive Speeds are slow for me. About 16-45min for medium to large uploads ( one duct system for a single floor of a medium sized building). What are strategies to speed this up? It seems that personal computer processing speed made a slight difference but not by much. Internet is lighting fast as well.

It seems that the speed may be linked to meshes not showing up, as if the task is so intensive, there’s not enough power to render the small complex curved pieces… but just speculating, not too sure.

Example:

Apologies if this has been answered somewhere else, I’m a newbie on this platform. :sunglasses: Everything else about Speckle thus far is marvelous though. If these issues can be solved for me, I think Speckle is a winner for me!

Thanks!!

Hey @Madoc_Pierce welcome aboard. Good to hear you testing the waters. Let’s try clear this roadblock.

Are the ducting components visible in the web viewer? Can you send a single one of those elements to Speckle, view it online, receive it in Blender?

Just trying to see where we can target resolution of this.

As always the more you can share with us (here in the post of via DM) the easier it is to help you.

—-

Performance as your secondary issue is a general issue we are always working on. It encompasses several areas from UX, conversions in host, server interaction, viewer.

We can take each step one at a time. Some bottlenecks we can address, sometimes it’s the apps themselves. Again, source data is mega helpful.

Then @Madoc_Pierce feel free to introduce yourself if you like.