Local server for basic Rhino > Blender transfers?

Hi! I’m a totally new user, sorry if this is a naive question:

I’m currently using Speckle simply to push geometry from Rhino to Blender for rendering. It’s all been very straightforward so far, but it seems that having my data do a round trip to Speckle’s server is a bit overkill considering that mainly, the files are all being produced and consumed by my laptop, and at the moment I’m not really concerned with collaboration with a large team. So if I want to have Speckle just working locally, on my machine (or maybe just within my office), what’s the simplest way to accomplish this?

I have seen help documents on deploying a server manually, or though Kubernetes, or DigitalOcean, and creating a local development environment, but as I am an architect and not a developer, I am finding much of the documentation is a bit over my head. I would like to avoid installing too many dependencies and getting into complex setup if possible!

Thank you

Hey @s-p-b, nice first question, welcome. :partying_face:

The core libraries used by Rhino (c#) and Blender (specklepy) allow for stores other than a Server. (Memory, DB and DIsk)

However, as they exist now, both Connectors have not been built to use this facility. Indeed, only Grasshopper does.

It is worth noting that what seems like an overhead quickly becomes beneficial even in Single Player mode. Transporting the data through a Speckle Server allows for version control outside both applications you are using, unparalleled even with file-based methods. Those model versions on the server can be divided, joined, recalled, and filtered, and you can revert to any version ever sent.

You may be in the habit of showing your work to others as an architect. There is a great opportunity to share your work with others who have no authoring software on any device that can run a modern browser.

1 Like