Link for RAM structural suites

Hi. I was recently introduced to your website and software. Impressive! I’m a practicing structural engineer who works with Revit for physical modeling and RAM/Bentley products (and etabs) for analysis modeling. The proprietary link between Revit and RAM is very unreliable. I see you’ve recently released an alpha version link of Revit to etabs (and back). Do you have a link developed or in development for back and forth data transfer between Revit and RAM Structural Systems?
There is a product from konstru, developed by TT. But I’m not sure the product is being kept up to date and there doesn’t seem to be any costumer service assistance.
Thanks!!
-Alan

2 Likes

Hi Alan,

Thank you for your question and welcome to the forum; feel free to introduce yourself if you’d like.

When I was a structural engineer, I would use RAM SS quite a bit so I’m very familiar with the unreliability that you are referring to. I would absolutely love to develop a connector for that one, but at the moment, we are focusing primarily on improving the stability of the connectors that we do have, so I can’t give you a timeline for when that might happen.

Would you mind sharing a little more about which other potential connectors would be most helpful to you? You mentioned SS specifically, but you also mentioned the RAM suite. Do you use Concept or others a lot? We’ve also put some thought into making a STAAD connector. Do you use STAAD or know many people who do?

2 Likes

Hi Connor,
Thanks for the quick response!
We use RAM SS, RAM Concept and RAM Elements the most. With RAM SS leading the way – steel framing and concrete framing. We don’t use STAAD, and not sure how many engineers that are our competitors use it. We do use etabs and recently acquired a form that uses SAP as well. But RAM SS would be the biggest help to us. And a lot of other engineering firms of our size – 100-125 employees.