Issues with Unity prefabs and installing from package manager with git URL

Hello! I just started using Speckle to attempt a Revit > Unity workflow for some BIM uses.

When I import my Revit model via the StreamManager component it works somewhat ok. The problem is if I try to create a prefab from the imported assets the prefab is created, the structure of the model is preserved in the prefab hierarchy, but there is no geometry. When I try to re-use the prefab it is empty.

I am also very new to unity to maybe I am doing something else wrong? Thanks for the help.

2 Likes

Hi Thanks for reaching out!

I’ll have to do some investigating. Currently we save meshes to the scene, rather than as assets, so this is likely why prefabs aren’t working properly. This sounds like a bit of an oversight on our part :sweat_smile:.

I’ll ping @haitheredavid, just in case he’s run into this issue before.

It would be great to offer a “Create Assets” option to the Stream manager. I’ve created a GitHub issue for this feature.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

1 Like

We ran into this issue before with trying to save the speckle stream as a prefab. Seems like unity changed the way they let prefabs store their meshes from the scene. If I remember correctly I think the solution was to serialize all the speckle data into the prefab. But that is not yet supported.

@FilipeFinco you’re using the unity connector properly, it just doesn’t support unity’s new way of prefabs

1 Like

Thanks @Jedd and @haitheredavid for the information. Indeed having it create assets on import would be interesting. I know Tridify BIM Tools for Unity does that automatically when the model is imported.

Also an additional note: When trying to install Speckle from unity package manager from git URL link (as described here: Unity | Speckle Docs) the installation fails. Workaround was to download the zip file and then manually add the package using add from disk option.

2 Likes