Having trouble with getting authenticated App when deployed remotely

Hi. I am a Speckle newbie and a Streamlit newbie. But I have managed to get Streamlit to talk to Speckle and I can get commits, change their attributes and put a new commit back on the server all through Streamlit and specklepy (and Topologic).
I have also successfully deployed the app to the Streamlit Cloud. Topologic work, speckle works, but I am having trouble getting an authenticated app to see the streams etc.
I DID add an Application to my speckle profile and noted down the App ID and the App Secret.
I also managed to input that into Streamlit and go to the authentication page, click on Allow and it redirects back to my Streamlit app. And when that happens, I can even get the ‘access_code’ as they call it which I assume is the token that I need, but then, this code does not authenticate the app

#-------
    #CLIENT
    client = SpeckleClient(host=speckleServer)
    #Get account from Token
    account = get_account_from_token(speckleToken, speckleServer)
    #Authenticate
    client.authenticate_with_account(account)
    #-------

Thank you for any help you can provide.

1 Like

In brief, the speckleToken will be an OAuth token. The access_code is what your APP should use to complete the authorization flow.

i.e. your APP (registered as an app in your profile settings) should exchange the access_code for it as the next step in the authentication flow.

by way of a python example:

user = {
        "email": "{{USER_EMAIL}}",
        "password": "{{USER_PASSWORD}}"
}

# How your app registers itself as approved by the user
response = requests.post(
    url=f"HTTP(s)://{{HOST_URL}}/auth/local/register?challenge={{CODE_CHALLENGE}}",
    data=user,
)
access_code = response.url.split("access_code=")[1]

Where CODE_CHALLENGE is the plain text OAuth code challenge. (read more here)

tokens = requests.post(
        url=f"http(s)://{{HOST_URL}}/auth/token",
        json={