Getting architect to use Speckle

I am still new to Speckle and need some advice. I am involved in a huge number of projects with different project organisation, different stages and different architects where I need to extract data from architectural Revit models. Usually geometrical data to perform thermal simulations. The architects does not know me since I am not always directly involved in the projects, they do not know about Speckle and they do not aways understand what data I need. I now wonder if you have any idea how Speckle can be used without scaring or creating extra work for the architect in projects like this? Usually, asking the architect to send a gbXML or even a custom IFC is to difficult.

/ Max

1 Like

Hey Max,

Thanks for prompting a good discussion topic! In general, we’ve seen two main ways in which Speckle gets adopted on projects:

• a top down one, where it’s “mandated” by project managers
  • a bottom up one, where people see the value and therefore use Speckle

The first case is usually when PMs realize the amount of information they can easily gather and then leverage by continuously “harvesting” their models. They can consume it via systems like custom dashboards or PowerBi integrations (we have a bunch of these on our roadmap). Or simply they want to enable people like you to do their job better and faster!

The second is when the designers have interoperability or collaboration needs, or simply want to visualize and share their models online. We are also working on various new features such as comments that will enhance collaboration even more.

So ideally either of the above could be enough to encourage your architects to use Speckle. We’re also working to simplify a lot the process of adopting and using our connectors with features such as the 1-click send and scheduled sends, but if you find or think there might be other barriers to adoption, let us know, we’d be eager to hear from you!