Features or geometry?

I have for some time tried to become familiar with Speckle. My background is from BIM/GIS information modelling. Seems like Speckle prefer geometry to feature types:

• when transferring a dataset with pipelines and manholes from a QGIS project, it ends up in the Speckle web browser as PolyLines and Points.
  • when transferring IFC entities with attributes and propertyTypes from Speckle (filled up using IFC file import), transferring it into QGIS ends up with geometry (Mesh type) instead of the IFC entity names and attributes.

Is this

1. a general truth for Speckle?
  2. a remaining challenge for the QGIS connector?
  3. caused by my lack of knowledge of Speckle?

I have also searched for the mapping setup of information used in the connectors. Sure there must be one. At least the IFC information is modified through the QGIS connector.

Anyone interested in helping, e.g. pointing to proper user guides/documentation?

Regards
Erling Onstein
Norway

Thanks for sharing your experience with understanding Speckle, given your background. As you noted, Speckle primarily transfers geometry data and associated metadata as the default. Each connector and the web assumes a basic fallback to a Mesh display with metadata, but this is a crude simplification.

While we don’t think of the translations of IFC → QGIS, we imbue the Connectors with an “understanding” or mapping from Native Type → Speckle Type and Speckle Type → Native.

Speckle mappings are our dynamic response to deliver solutions to our users. A constantly evolving platform that is designed to support a wide range of object types where it makes sense to do so. We like to consider these as supporting specific workflows. It is tempting to try and take any format of 3d data and present it in any of the supported applications, but this isn’t how users are trying to solve problems with Speckle.