Camera positioning in speckle-viewer

Hello Speckle Community :slight_smile:

currently I am working on a project using the SpeckleViewer. One of the requirements is that the camera position of the viewer has to be at a certain angle after the viewer has finished initializing. I have already figured out how to rotate and zoom with the camera after initializing but right now I’m kinda stuck at changing the actual position of the camera afterwards.
I have already tried to change the camera position through the cameraHandler but the actual position didnt really change.
This is how I am trying it right now but the set-function doesnt really do much. I’m new to the viewer and have tried to solve it by sticking to Cristis demo here: https://github.com/specklesystems/speckle-server/blob/main/packages/viewer/src/modules/Viewer.js

And this is my sourcecode:

viewer.loadObject(props.speckleUrl).then(async () => {
			viewer.interactions.rotateTo("bottom");
			viewer.cameraHandler.controls.zoom(60);
			viewer.cameraHandler.camera.position.set(
			);

It would be really great if someone could help me understand the camera of the viewer a little bit better :slight_smile:

thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hey @christopher.menzel
Welcome to the Speckle community! Feel free to Introduce yourself to everyone if you haven’t already and are willing to share.

If the camera position changes, the scene will need to re-render to have an effect. Depending on the surrounding code you may not be triggering that within the async event.

I’m not sure which demo you are looking at, but it could be as simple as adding viewer.needsRender = true for example.

5 Likes

Hello @jonathon,

thank you for your support.

I have tried your solution and set viewer.needsRender to true after changing the camera position, but i don’t see any changes in viewer after that.