Viewer API & Tweakpane - changing color on some objects

Hello !

I am very new to Speckle, js, and typescript and I am trying to use Speckle Viewer new API. I would like to change the color of selected objects, to display various temperatures in a house for example. I used the function “setUserObjectColors()” and it is working. But then I wanted to display various colors by using a slider from “tweakpane”, but the color of the object stayed the same. I tried to use “removeUserObjectColors()” and “removeColorFilter()” before changing the colors, but no chance.
I was wondering if I need to use “material.needsupdate = true” for three.js ? If this is the case, I don’t know how to use it in the viewer-sandbox project, and would greatly appreciate any help :slight_smile:

My code in Sandbox.ts:

public makeTemperatureUI() {
    const container = this.tabs.pages[6];
    container
    .addInput(this.temperaturesParams, 'Slider', {
        label: 'Slider',
        step: 1,
        min: 0,
        max: 40
      })
    .on('change',(value) => {
      this.viewer.getExtension(FilteringExtension).removeUserObjectColors()
      this.viewer.getExtension(FilteringExtension).setUserObjectColors([{objectIds: [this.objectId], color: this.temperature_to_color(this.temperaturesParams.Slider)}])

})

public getObjectId(node: TreeNode){
    return [node.model.id]
  }

public temperature_to_color(temp: number){
    let res_color = "#b8cc33"
    if (temp <= 18){
      res_color = "#33c2cc"
    }
    else if (temp >=26){
      res_color = "#cc3333"
    }
    return res_color;
  }

Thanks !

3 Likes

Hello @i0np

First of all, thank you for your interest in the viewer’s API 2.0! :slight_smile: We’re always glad to see people trying things out!
The issue you are describing is a valid one, and it’s already being tracked in this issue. API 2.0 is still not thoroughly tested and it’s likely you may encounter bugs like this one