Uploading segmented meshes into single commit with customized id

Hellooo,
I’m new to speckle, and I am currently looking into using specklepy to customize object id for each upload meshes from our lidar scans. There are some layers to what I am struggling with:

1. how does one upload an .obj file from their personal directory? would I need to define a class scan_mesh(base) with file location as attribute?

2. is it possible to customize object_id (scan_1, scan_2 etc.) so that when retrieved and re-pushed to the stream we can keep track of the same object id?

3. lastly, as we have segmented our scans to three different meshes and a point, how would one group them to one commit (it would be like uploading a building with columns, floors, and xyz_home_coordinate)?

I believe for #1 and #3, these are built in grasshopper and rhino. But due to our need to customize the attributes and object_id name, we have resorted to checking out specklepy. Any insight would be hugely appreciated.

Thank you!

1 Like

Hey @aims_where , welcome to these parts!

The first thing to probably clarify is how the Speckle id works: this is not an arbitrary identifier set by the client or server, it is instead a hash of the object itself, and therefore, you should not override it.
You can read more about this topic in our docs: The Base Object | Speckle Docs

But given all Speckle objects are also extensible, so you can definitely add a new property myCustomObjId='abc123'.

Replying to your questions:

1. In GH you can probably just load up the mesh, and the connector will take care of converting it automatically for you. In python, I’m afraid there is no helper method to convert from a file, so you’ll need to manually parse the obj file and create a Speckle mesh object. But @Jedd will correct me if I’m wrong :slight_smile: