Space conversion from Revit fails if zone is not defined

Hi all,

I’ve just encountered a bug in the conversion of Spaces in the Revit connector. Issue is that conversion fails in the indicated line when a zone is not specified. This gives the well-known but unclear 'object not set to an instance of an object' error. I’m not a Revit expert, but I think it should be possible to send Spaces without a Zone, as also Revit doesn’t have issues with undefined zones. Or at least, it should give a clear error when the zone is missing.

By commenting the line, I was able to convert and send all Spaces. Receiving them (updating in this case), seems to work fine, also without the zones.

Additionally, a bit off-topic, I wasn’t able to properly debug the ConvertSpace.cs in Visual Studio as it didn’t hit my breakpoints for some reason, maybe because it’s in the shared ConverterRevitShared project and not the ConverterRevit2021 project that was being debugged (?). Anyway, if you have any clue on this, some advice would be much appreciated! :grin:

2 Likes

Hi @Rob,

Thanks for reporting this bug and looking into it to find the cause! That’s awesome. If you’re feeling bold, you could just add a null check (changing the line to speckleSpace.zoneName = revitSpace.Zone?.Name should work just fine) and make a PR.

If not that’s fine, I can get around to it.

In terms of the debug issue, that is a common one that I need to add in the readme or something. You need to debug the CONNECTOR, not the converter, for whichever version of Revit your are using or your breakpoints won’t hit. Just right-click on the connector version that you’d like to debug and set it as the startup project

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick response!