I need help with saving rhino Objects User dictionary

Hello there!

I am very new to Speckle and trying to test the value of speckle for my team’s workflow. We are building a design tool in Rhino. As a part of this, we create rhino objects with custom data saved into the User Dictionary in the attributes of a rhino object. From very simple tests of uploading simple objects, it appears that speckle does not save much user data besides the geometry and layer. Does this feature exist? to save this data? or should I be looking at building my own layer on top of speckle to export-import? I am very new and would appreciate any tips as to the best direction to proceed!

Sorry for the lack of example files, though I think this question is on a simple enough level to survive without. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Hi @JimboSlice! Okay, that probably is an oversight on our end. We’ll look into this asap. A quick question/request would be to give us a sample of the data you’re attaching to rhino objects so we can code the right thing!

Okay, following up: it seems we actually do swipe away properties that can be visible in the user attributes text panel in rhino:

and the sent stuff:

(you’ll notice they all have the foo, bar, baz props).

We don’t look yet into the UserDictionary itself. So our questions are:

• could your workflows use the user strings instead? (this is what we’re parsing already)
  • if not, do you use nested user dictionaries?
1 Like

Thanks, @dimitrie for such a fast replay! In the meantime, I built a simple gh script to add and view User dictionary entries on objects though I feel you have no need for this as you see the issue.

Unfortunately, User strings from our experience are much heavier than a user dictionary. In addition, we also prefer to control more tightly the data from the dictionary which is harder for a typical user to edit.

Thanks again for the support