How to send from Unity - Want to see what is in SpeckleProperties

Greetings. I have been using Speckle in connection to Revit for BIM implementation. So far it has been great for receiving models from Revit into Unity.

Now I am interested in sending it out of Unity. So how do I actually do this? I checked the docs section here: #Sending but I am not very experienced in programming so I did not understand much.

Reading the #Metadata section of the docs it says the model information is stored in the SpeckleProperties script, which is indeed added to each imported game object in Unity. But how do I see what is inside of it for each game object?

My reason for looking into this is: When you export a Revit model for example as IFC schema, each model entity gets a GUID (Global Unique Identifier) which can be used across different applications to make a reference to that exact same model entity.

I want to better understand if this GUID is somehow imported and preserved when receiving the model in Unity, and also if it is preserved when sending the model out of Unity. Thanks!

Hi @FilipeFinco,

Our current version of the connector doesn’t provide a convenient editor script for sending like we do for receiving. So to send geometry, you will need to write some code that uses the Sender class. This should offer you the functionality you need. You only need to specify the stream id, and a list of GameObjects to send.
The other properties are optional, and used if you want error handling/to be notified when the send operation is complete.

For a usage example, you can download our sample “Speckle Playground” project by cloning/downloading the unity repo. Checkout the InteractionLogic class.

This process may not be super straightforward, especially if you are new to unity, so please let me know if you are having any issues.

SpeckleProperties are a component that are attached to every GameObject created.