Grasshopper to Revit - Broken Geometry

Good day,

I’m relatively new to Speckle but I am encountering something odd.

I create geometry in Grasshopper (breps) and send it through speckle as DirectShape by base geometries to Revit.

In my Rhino (see below) all geometry comes in smooth and “healthy”

Once it hits speckle and finally Revit the geometry becomes jagged and broken:

Looking at the speckle stream online it looks like the jagged edges are already coming in when it hits Speckle. Has anyone ecountered something like this? I’m curious if it might be the translation, geometric working ranges (since the model it is loaded into is quite large) or improper usage of the converter

Hey @RamiEvans ,

Welcome to the community! Feel free to Introduce yourself :person_gesturing_ok: to the community if you want to! :smiley:

Looks like these breps are converted into meshes. We recently made improvements on how we handle Breps. What version of Revit connector are you using? Can you share the commit or add me (bilal@speckle.systems) as a collaborator so we can better investigate.

2 Likes

@gokermu Thank you! I have added you to the stream - I am using Revit connector 2.6.4

I can’t seem to reproduce this. Can you upgrade to 2.6.5 and try again?

PS. You can create Direct Shapes in Railings category directly from Grasshopper too.

1 Like

As for the “broken” behaviour you specify, and how the solids seem to also be “tesselated” in the viewer:

When you send a Brep to Speckle, 2 things happen:

• we preserve the native Brep information so that platforms that understand Brep/Solids can receive them as such.
  • we convert it into a Mesh that will be used in any platform that does not support Brep/Solids.

Since support between platform varies, it is possible to send some BREPs from Rhino that will be:

1. Perfectly received in Rhino as BREPs
  2. Fail to receive in Revit, in which case we will use the Mesh that was generated upon sending.