Getting started with Unity Runtime

Hi

I am just after a bit of a pointer in the right direction for using Speckle in Unity at runtime.

I downloaded the connector and the playground to see what to do and the runtime part seems to be marked as “obsolete” (i.e. Receiver, Sender ). But the playground runtime example uses it and is also marked obsolete (same for the instructions in the user guide Unity | Speckle Docs).

I started playing with the editor version (Speckle Receiver and Sender) and reworking that but wanted to double check if that was the best way to go.

thanks

Tony

Hi @TonyTrav

The Sender and Receiver components will soon be superseded by the SpeckleSender and SpeckleReceiver components.
Both are fully functional, but we do plan to phase out the older components eventually.

I’m yet to update the sandbox example to use the new components. (thanks for the friendly reminder to do this :sweat_smile:)

You should find that the newer SpeckleSender and SpeckleReceiver are more flexible and intuitive to use, and can be used at runtime or during editor mode.

The only feature the current SpeckleReceiver lacks over the original Receiver is support for auto-receive / subscriptions. I hope to add support soon, but is a relatively low priority item.

So, unless you require auto receive, I’d recommend using the newer components as they offer more flexibility and will be supported for longer going forward.

Hope this clears things up, and please don’t hesitate to send any other questions/feature requests my way!

1 Like

Thanks Jedd

I won’t need auto receive so I will dig into SpeckleSender and SpeckleReceiver!

Thanks again

Tony

Hi Jedd

I seem to have gotten stuck again with the Unity Speckle Receiver code.

Managed to get the Base object from speckle but things are going pear shaped with the converter.

at:

Base b = receiveOperation.Result;

foreach (var _ in Converter.RecursivelyConvertToNative_Enumerable(b, parent, predicate))
 {
     yield return null;