Assigning colours to lines/curves in Speckle Web Viewer

Hi All,

I’m relatively new to the Speckle world. So far Im super intrigued with what it can achieve.

I’m wondering if Speckle is able to assign colour properties to lines/curves received from Grasshopper?

I imported a bunch of lines with their corresponding network analysis colour properties. For some reason, it wouldn’t display the colour on the web viewer.

Not sure if Im doing something wrong?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,
Sid

Hi @Siddharth12, it’s not you - it’s us! We’ve heavily optimised things in the viewer for solid “things” but we didn’t have time to roll the same things out for line-based objects.

One (inefficient) solution would be to pipe those curves out (maybe with some easier-on-the-vertex-count-method that does not use circles), and set properties to those extrusions - then things will be able to get nicely coloured.

Thanks @dimitrie for your reply!

Just out of curiosity, will Speckle be rolling out viewing properties for line-based objects anytime soon?

I work heavily with large-scale networks and piping each segment would probably render in crashing. See attached ex of a small file I was able to put on Speckle. It’ll be great if I could also see the network analysis colours to further my cause of web visualization.

Any thoughts are much appreciated.

Sid

2 Likes

Hi @Siddharth12 - looks quite complex, and we can’t wait to make it look even more nice :sweat_smile: We hate to put timing on things, but :crossed_fingers: for 2 months from now.

We’re tracking this here.

1 Like

As a PS, if you’re willing, we’d be happy to give it a go to “pipe” some of those lines if you’ll share a simplified model/defintion with us. Right now, solids are displayed 1000x more efficiently in our viewer than line-based geometry, so i’m actually almost sure it would work :smiley:

Hi @dimitrie Thank you for opening up the issue. Look forward to it being rolled out soon.